Drive Carefully: Please drive carefully
and observe the campus speed limit (15 mph).
Always yield to
pedestrians, and always follow the Motor Vehicle Code of the State of Iowa.
(Consult with the Campus Security Office or Fairfield Police Department for the
Motor Vehicle Code of the State of Iowa.)
Come to a complete
stop at stop signs (two (2) full seconds). The fine for failing to do so is
Parking: Please observe and adhere
strictly to posted parking and no-parking areas. There is no parking on or in
front of drives or walkways, entrances to walkways, loading areas, dumpsters, fire hydrants (within five feet on either side), or anywhere that
parking would block traffic. Parking is not allowed on sidewalks or grass at
any time, even for loading or unloading your car.
violations are subject to fines and/or towing at vehicle owner’s expense. The fine for parking on the grass is $100.
There are some
restricted parking areas. If you do not have the appropriate sticker for a
specific parking spot, or if the lot is not designated for student parking, it
should not be used even for temporary parking. Please consult with the Campus
Safety Office for designated student parking lots and student parking spaces.
Traffic Violations: If you fail to
observe parking or traffic guidelines, you may receive either a warning or a
fine, the amount of which will determined by the situation and the severity of
the offense. With three or more violations you may lose your driving privileges
on campus, and your vehicle may be towed at the discretion of the University, at
the owner’s expense.
Vehicles found to be
in violation in the following areas will be towed, or suspension of driving
privileges may occur, regardless of the number of previous violations:
in handicapped areas without appropriate permits on the vehicle
through an intersection or on roads close to play areas for children or their
to stop at stop signs (a full two seconds)
violations of a critical nature, determined at the University’s discretion
Traffic Fines: All fines must be paid
within seven days. A payment envelope is provided with the citation.
Individuals with unpaid fines will not receive copies of their academic
transcripts, or, if they are graduating, their diplomas.
Appealing Traffic Fines: If you wish to
appeal fines assessed for any violation, you must file a written appeal within
seven days of issuance of the fine. Written appeals must be brought or mailed
to Campus Safety, Verrill Hall, Room 43.
Disabled Vehicles: If your vehicle
becomes disabled in a no parking zone, it should be moved within an hour or
two, or it will be towed at the vehicle owner’s expense. Please call Campus
Security at ext. 1115 (641-472-1115) to advise them of the situation. If the
vehicle is parked elsewhere, it should be repaired within two weeks. No
disabled vehicles may be stored on campus.
All vehicles which
are in need of repair or are inoperative for more than 14 days are considered
Storing Vehicles on Campus: Students
who wish to store their vehicles on campus must be currently registered in one
of our academic programs, and the vehicle must be currently registered with the
State and with the Campus Safety Office.
Call the Safety Office to make arrangements as to where the vehicle will
be stored and for how long. Vehicles
must be fully operational
University Vehicles: In order to
operate a University-owned (insured) vehicle, or a private vehicle on
University business, first contact the Campus Safety Office for guidelines and
requirements at ext. 1117 (641-472-1117).