Subscribe for Free Past Issues
The latest developments from Maharishi University of Management u

JUNE 4, 2010 • ISSUE 82

University Website


Minna Mohammadi and Pearl Sawhney


Raph Burne


Atreya Dey

Maharishi School Students
Win Top Science Awards

Maharishi School sophomores Pearl Sawhney and Minna Mohammadi recently won the Iowa Junior Academy of Science award, which entails an all-expense-paid trip to an event in Washington, D.C. in February of 2011.

They researched the link between farm feeding practices and the presence of phosphorus in the water in the Jefferson county area. The students found that water downstream from organic farms had the lowest phosphorus content, and that water downstream from CAFOs (concentrated animal feeding operations) had the highest phosphorus.

In March they also swept the top prizes at the earlier Eastern Iowa State Science Fair as well as the State Science and Technology Fair of Iowa. Their project, entitled “Farm Feeding Practices: Exploring Solutions for Environmental Sustainability,” also won a free trip to participate at the Intel International Science Fair in San Jose with their teacher and mentor, Dr. Mousumi Dey.

Maharishi School junior Raph Burne received an honorable mention award at the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium in Bethesda, Maryland, in May. He was selected to participate in the event after winning third place at the state level.

Burne’s poster presentation, entitled “Sustainable Insulation and Conservation: Keeping Heat In and Sound Out,” used recycled car tires mixed with recycled paper to create an effective heat and sound insulation.

The Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, sponsored by US Army, Naval, and Air Force Research Offices, gives students an opportunity to hear their peers present research. Out of 8000 students that applied, 240 students were invited to attend.

Atreya Dey, a Maharishi School junior, has been selected as one of 15 Herbert Hoover Award Recipients and a member of the twelfth class of Hoover Uncommon Students. Dey submitted a proposal for a scientific research project on water pollution. He will be working under Dr. S. Mallapragada, the Stanley Chair at Iowa State University, over the summer.

The Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award is a $5,000 scholarship program for Iowa high school juniors. The program annually honors up to 15 Iowa high school juniors who propose and then accomplish a project of their own choosing and design.

To unsubscribe, click here

Development Office, Maharishi University of Management, Fairfield, IA 52557 641-472-1180

Copyright 2010, Maharishi University of Management. Publication or reproduction
of this communication in any form is prohibited without permission.

®Maharishi University of Management and Maharishi School of the Age of Enlightenment
are registered or common law trademarks licensed to Maharishi Vedic Education Development
Corporation, a 501(c) (3) non-profit educational organization.