Faculty & Staff
Faculty and Staff Directory
Contacts for Student Life Concerns
Home >  Faculty & Staff >  Directory >  Contacts for Student Life Concerns > 
Contacts    
QUICKLIST of most frequently Needed Services (below)
(Please note: area code for all numbers is 641)

Academic Advising:

  • For students who have declared majors: find your academic department advisor.
  • For students who have not declared majors: Danella Lubar, 472-1144 dlubar@mum.edu
  • For Graduation requirements and degree check: see Graduation Director below (under Graduation Requirements and Degree Check.)
Academic Support:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Alcohol and Drug Use Concerns:
  • Contact Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director of Student Support Services, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); jshapiro@mum.edu EMERGENCIES: 233-8105
Calendar of Events:
  • See Student Activities Department below
  • Backup: Zhuo Jiang, 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); zhuojiang@mum.edu 
Campus Nurse:
  • Deidre Lentz, 472-7000 ext. 3411; 919-6904 (cell); dlentz@mum.edu
  • Brenda Hellweg, back-up nurse
Career Advising:
  • Jan Sickler, Director of Career Services, 472-1151 (office); 919-7327 (cell); jsickler@mum.edu
Clubs:
  • Student liaison: Alexandra Pomeroy, Student Body President: gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
Deans of Students:
  • Dean of Student Life: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Student Life: Sheila Swanson, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Students: Elaine Pomfrey, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 919-9552 (cell); epomfrey@mum.edu
  • Assistant Dean of Students: Chris Taft, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 451-1179 (cell); ctaft@mum.edu
Department of Student Life:
Development of Consciousness Department:
Disabilities Accommodation:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Email Broadcasts to Students:
Enrollment Center Front Desk
Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Concerns:
Financial Aid
Food Service Concerns:
  • Elaine Pomfrey, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 919-9552 (cell); epomfrey@mum.edu (Elaine is the Department of Student Life liaison)
Global Student Council:
  • Student Body President: Alexandra Pomeroy, gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mchsi.com
Graduation Requirements and Degree Check:
  • Mary King, Graduation Advisor, 472-7000 ext 2205, mking@mum.edu
Graduation Awards Ceremony:
Harassment:
  • Elaine Pomfrey, Associate Dean of Student Life, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 919-9552 (cell); epomfrey@mum.edu
     
  • Chris Taft, Assistant Dean of Students, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 451-1179 (cell), ctaft@mum.edu
    ; or any member of the Department of Student Life
International Health Insurance
International Student Advising:
  • Nancy Watkins, Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-1222 (or ext. 1222); nwatkins@mum.edu
  • Diana Rivera, Associate Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-7000 ext. 4811, drivera@mum.edu
  • Lijuan Cai, Director of Asian Student Life, 472-7000 ext. 4005; lcai@mum.edu
Internships:
  • Academic department internship coordinator and/or Jan Sickler, Director of Career Services, 472-1151 (office), jsickler@mum.edu
Off-Campus Housing Petitions:
Orientation:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Peer Mentoring:
Posters:
  • Contact Student Activities below
Residential Life:
Housing Department, 472-1126 (or ext. 1126), housing@mum.edu
  • If urgent (e.g., no heat in dorm room; or hazard): Security, 472-1115 (or ext. 1115)
Custodial and Facilities Management Issues:
  • Students report issues to mum.edu/fixit. If no timely reply, go to RA and then RD. If RA and then RD cannot resolve, contact Alvaro Monasterio.
Sexual Harassment (other than sexual violence):
  • Elaine Pomfrey, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 919-9552 (cell),  epomfrey@mum.edu
  • Chris Taft, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 451-1179 (cell); ctaft@mum.edu
  • or any member of the Department of Student Life
Sexual Violence:
  • Call 911 and:
  • Campus Security at 472-1115 or campus extension 1115 and: 
  • and Caterina Roesler, Sexual Assault Response and Prevention Coordinator, (641) 472-7000 ext 2241; croesler@mum.edu
Smoking Cessation:
  • See Campus Nurse above

Student Accounts

Student Activities:
Student Conduct, Concerns About:
Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
Student Government:
  • Student Body President: Alexandra Pomeroy, gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
Student Handbook:
Student Health (Physical, Mental, and Emotional):
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Physical Health: See Campus Nurse above
  • Mental and Emotional Health: Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); 233-8105 (cell); jshapiro@mum.edu
Student Safety:
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Campus Safety Director: James Bedinger, 919-7992
  • Campus Security: 472-1115 or MUM ext. 1115
Student Spaces:
  • Classroom spaces: Arla Rabalais, 472-7000 ext 4132, arabalais@mum.edu
  • Residence hall spaces: Alvaro Monasterio, 472-7000 ext. 4804; amonasterio@mum.edu
  • Arts Center Theater: Noah Buntain, 472-7000 ext 5031, mc@mum.edu
  • All other spaces: Contact Student Activities above
Student Success Center:
Student Support Services (Counseling):
  • Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); jshapiro@mum.edu EMERGENCIES: 641-233-8105
Students with Children:
TM Checking:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above
TM Courses for Students:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above

Transcript Requests

Vastu Housing Applications:
Visas:
Website:
Workstudy:
 
 
 
search login