Go Back

Maharishi School Theater Cavalcade Performances

Date: 2/24/2013Start Time: 2:00 PMEnd Time: 4:00 PMLocation: Spayde Theater, MUM Library

The public is invited to Maharishi School's Theater Cavalcade Performances at Spayde Theater on MUM campus, February 22-23 at 7 p.m. and 2:00 matinee on February 24.

Two of Maharishi School’s Cavalcade performances have been selected to perform at the annual All-State Festival in Ames on February 16. Selected to perform are a one act play, The Elephant Man, and a choral reading performance entitled Dream Song. Of the 43 Maharishi School students that performed at the competition, 20 will perform at the Festival. In addition, one of the school’s group improvisational teams was honored by judges as an “Outstanding Performance.”

Being selected to perform at the Festival “is a huge honor and I am very happy for them,” shared Speech Coach and professional actor, Ben Estey. “All of our students, both performing and non-performing should be very proud of the work they've done and I know, are very excited for the upcoming festival.”

The Elephant Man is a 1977 play by Bernard Pomerance. The story is based on the true life story of Joseph Merrick, a severely deformed man who lived during the Victorian era, as told through the accounts of Sir Frederick Treves, a prominent surgeon in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.

As a One Act Play, the play is cut to 35 min and performed with full costuming props, sets and lighting. The cast includes: Laser Nite, Hifza Akber, Girindra Selleck, Brecon Anastasio, Vinit Suganur, Dia Huggins, Alina Knight and Huijin Zhou.

Dream Song is a fifteen minute compilation of poetry, music and movement with amazing costumes. This piece follows the theme of dreams through poems by Neruda and Kipling, rockabilly pop from the 50’s, and modern folk rock. It’s a high energy piece about what it means to “dream with your eyes open.” The Choral Reading category has long been the flagship of the Maharishi School Speech Program.

Cast includes: Brecon Anastasio, Kishan Thijm, Luis Giron, Bryan Prather-Huff, Nathaniel Zhu, Girindra Selleck, Raffi Gelfand, Katya Sheridan, Alina Knight, Sophia Medvedeva, Chosie Titus, Isabel Reed, Chen Xi, Samantha Bell and Gabriella Sleiman.

Performers receiving special accolades for their improvisational performance are: Avery Travis, Mickey DeAngelis, Niko Thiel, Surya Sawhney.

“I’m very happy with all of our entries this year,” said Estey, “every piece has something special and I have enjoyed watching these young performers come into their own throughout this demanding process.”

search login

Click here to cancel

You were trying to view a protected page.
Please login to gain access or cancel to go back to the site.
User ID:  

Forgot your password?